The best worst day…

March 12, 2009 at 12:48 am (Uncategorized)

Today we said goodbye to Gracie. An aged beagle/basset type dog. Had plenty of complications with cancer in the past to which I’m not really aware of the details. I do know about two years ago she was said to only have about six months left. As far as real medicine goes anyway. But when do they really know, when it comes to cancer. But they gave up on her. So our director turned to unconventional medication options. Holistic, to be more precise. Y’know. Herbal stuff. Which has actually proven itself in our facility a number of times in the past. Its helped fight or … tame symptoms from things like really messed up equilibrium from brain damage due to undiagnosed distemper in a couple of puppies. Always flopping around in our grooming room. It helped an old cat named Lucy recover from her kidney/liver failure and go one to live almost another year I think. And gave our beloved Gracie quite a peg longer than she was supposed to have

So… can’t really complain in regards to that. It was a somber day to say the least. I didn’t think it was going to phase me the way it did. I simply went to pay my respects and wish her well… in some way. Kinda felt obligated. Until I saw her. They were keeping her in my manager’s office. Shared office, with the dim-wit supervisor who’s also in charge of book keeping and such. Not really where I wanted to act all formal whatnot. Thankfully neither were there. Gracie was surrounded by worthwhile people. Those that actually cared. I looked over her. She seemed to be in shock or something. Just laying there, panting. In a daze. People petting her and kissing her and looking down on her. It was demanded I come in and pet her. Say goodbye. I’m strong on my own. But for some reason sometimes all it takes is a little nudge from someone else. Thank God it was only friends in there

It was mentioned that she seemed to relax. Dog whisperer and his powers

So I couldn’t wallow. I paid my respect and let her know I cared and I had to move on. Work to be done. And then people coming and checking on me. Giving me hugs. Reminds me of when I had to help Petey on

And to think I was staring to let things roil up in my head about the kind of stuff thats been going on there. Supervisor throwing weight around and writing people up over disputable issues and blatantly missing things herself that would get others in trouble. The manager who can’t keep a secret in confidense ‘cause he’s dating an over emotional drama queen who also works there. And the director himself, who I have reason not to even trust anymore. I was riled up for a good man-to-man today. One that’d likely never happen. But that all changed as the day wore on

Our dear adoption manager Courtney was asked to clean the director’s office today. So he couldn’t hide in his office like he usually does and got to bare witness to lots of fantastic things. Drama queen not doing her job. Retarded supervisor not doing hers. Manager being forced to do his. Ah amusing stuff… A lot of mistakes and back stabbings seemed to find a brick wall today

Was that you, Gracie? God bless, dear :] You were a good’un

I had to leave early regardless of how things were going to turn out. Had m’birthday recently. Need to legalize my driving privelages and all. Mike had to donate after work. So Court came to hang out with me whilst she wait

It was an interesting hour or so. We’re not the talkative type but there’s always been something about me. She’s a people hater and practically swore an oath to become my friend one day. And whenever we do get a chance to talk. Not just small talk, but -really- talk. Its interesting. Its something I’ve sadly needed recently. Its not like there was even any soul spilling. But there was just something there that’s not in any of my usual conversations. Maybe it was just -real- talking, and not just speaking. Talking -with– instead of -to-. Whatever the case, what with all the crying and talky bonding. Its been a relieving day

With two other notable things on the list, I fear this has indeed become a ramble. I bought a television and hard drive online a couple nights ago. Hard drive’s already here. I got everything off my laptop onto it. A whole 13 gigs. Not even a scratch on this 750g monster. Decide to test it out and hook it up to my 360 to get some watching on, and… nadda. Long story short, the 360 apparently can’t register the existance of drives that aren’t partitioned in FAT32. Which I found out the hard way. The long… hard way. Huge headache. Damn near ruined the hard drive trying to correct the problem. Took a few hours. And currently I’m back where I started. With an empty 750 gig hard drive in NTSF formatting

But then I realized there’s a lovely new tactical arcade game on XBox Live. Based off of the Final Fantasy Tactics franchise, its not tactical at all. But it is quite strategic. And -addictive-! So… I bought it

And I think I should end there. Not sure why I was saying things the way I was throughout this post, but aside from the headache and the bit of guilt that I never have fun and interesting things to say about my relationship, I guess I’ve had a horrible but over-all good day. The relationship thing should change soon too. Here’s hoping. Just gotta find that niche. Ride the wave

Goodbye :]

Leave a Reply

